Research at the Department of Botany

Research in the Department of Botany concerns the biodiversity of plants, algae and fungi, and their functioning throughout the molecular, individual, community, ecosystem and global scale. The department conducts both theoretical and applied research, the latter focusing largely on the protection of natural habitats and on the optimal management of communities and populations.

Workgroups in the Department of Botany are divided among the following four Chairs:


Chair of Botany

Prof. Meelis Pärtel

Chair of Plant Ecology

Prof. Martin Zobel

Chair of Mycology

Prof. Urmas Kõljalg

Chair of Ecophysiology

Prof. Arne Sellin